To my kind readers who have asked “Where the hell are you?”,  I THANK YOU!  Am shocked you even noticed my absence. It is sooo nice to be missed!

What can I say – it’s been busy.  I’ve been to Bali, Brisbane and Broome, and back again. Completed a Year 7 assignment on the Roman Empire (got a B+), revisited algebra (still boring and impossible), clocked up a few school excursions and frozen about three million sandwiches out of sheer panic. I’ve styled sportspeople and supermodels, written articles on handbags, Kate and kale and worked my way through three really good novels (Drunk Mum, May We Be Forgiven and a newbie by Dawn French – can’t remember the title).  In between, I have cooked up delicious cold weather meals whilst winter lingers on which are eaten in front of the fire with lots of red wine. So luxurious, except our jeans are getting tighter which absolutely drains all the fun out of it.

So I am detoxing for 14 days (won’t bore you with the details).  I started today, which means last night consisted of steak, red wine, roast potatoes, bernaise sauce, almond chocolate, coffee (full-fat) and a deceptively healthy, but all-together delicious, dessert – Banana “Ice Cream” with Sweet-and-Salty Almonds, (had to be a little bit virtuous).

Well it’s sublime – truly delicious, ridiculously quick to whip-up and will make you feel super-smug as so damn healthy!  I give you the recipe with the promise I will be more diligent with my blogging, although can’t guarantee I’ll be happy with it. No sugar, alcohol or coffee will see to that!

Enjoy!

Oh I wish it was a nicer picture! It was taken very quickly before being snatched away!

Oh I wish it was a nicer picture! It was taken very quickly before being snatched away!

Banana “Ice Cream” with Sweet-and-Salty Roasted Almonds

(adapted from Gwyneth Paltrow’s ‘It’s All Good’)

This recipe has all the rich, creamy texture of ice cream with none of the dairy or sugar. The crunchy topping is a snap to put together is so, so good.

Ingredients

(serves 4)

  • 4 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced into thin rounds
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped roasted almonds
  • 2 teaspoons plus 2 tablespoons good-quality maple syrup, divided. (I was out of maple syrup, so used good quality honey – equally yum)
  • A pinch of coarse sea salt (or more to taste. I was quite liberal)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Method

  • Freeze the banana slices in a single layer on a tray or plate lined with baking paper.
  • Once they are frozen, use them straight away or save in a ziplock bag for later.
  • In a small bowl, combine the almonds with 2 teaspoons of the maple syrup and salt to taste.
  • Combine the frozen banana slices, almond milk, remainder of syrup and vanilla and blend in food processor until it is like soft-serve ice cream. I think I over whipped mine, but still good.
  • Spoon into bowls straight away and sprinkle with almond mixture.
