Kim.Collage
Gorgeous Kim Wheeler was raised on artichokes, avocados and over-chlorinated swimming pools in her native Northern California. She has subscribed to Vogue since seven – admirable. I read her blog northercalstyle.com religiously for its cool interiors, fashion inspirations and musings on raising a family Californian-style – more of which she shares with us today.Thanks Kim!
LOCATION: Los Gatos, California.
HOME: A 1960s remodeled Californian ranch house.
SOCIAL MEDIA: Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, notherncalstyleblog
MOTHERING STYLE: Being there. 90% of parenting is just available and knowing what everyone is up to. Being interested in what they are up to helps.
FAKING CALM KIDS 101: My boys like foot and shoulder rubs and homemade cookies.
BREAKFAST: Greek Yogurt with walnuts and yogurt.
DAILY UNIFORM: Distressed jeans, a button-down, scarf or chunky necklace and my Toms shoes of boots for school runs and home days.
PERSONAL STYLE: Relaxed Californian style meets preppy.
STYLE ICONS: Grace Kelly and Slim Keith. Modern day girls who look amazing are Kate Moss, Olivia Palermo and Giovanna Battaglia.
DAILY SPLURGE: A chunk of dark chocolate with almonds or hazelnuts.
GO-TO ACCESSORY FOR FAKING FAST STYLE: cute shoes or a great jacket.
JEANS: Right now I’m in love with Rich and Skinny boyfriend jeans.
SUNGLASSES: Tory Burch aviators and MIchael Kors rounded Wayfarers.
SNEAKERS: Loving my very comfy Coach yellow sneakers I bought for my travels.
TEES: J.Crew hands down. I love their cotton and fit.
LINGERIE: Chantelle bras have the prettiest straps and style. Gap boy shorts are one of my favourites as well.
BAG: A cream Coach tote with black tassel, but my favourite bag is a slouchy teal Furla bag I bought a few years ago in Italy.
SCENT: The One by Dolce and Gabbana.
LIPSTICK: Bobbie Brown Lipgloss and Clarins Instant Light Lip Perfecter is brilliant.
BEAUTY: Armani foundation is lovely and I can’t live without Weleda Skin Food for my hands and legs.
CANDLE:South Beach Candle by Archipelago.
COFFEE: Cappuccino or I adore Paris Tea by Harney and Sons.
TIPPLE: Aperol Spritz or a Chardonnay from California of course! A
SIGNATURE DISH: White Girl Enchiladas (my husband’s name for this owing to the white sauce and mild green chillis in it!).
CULINARY WEAKNESS: Scones – I love to bake.
FLOWERS: Hydrangeas and bright Dahlias.
FAVE DESTINATION: London and I’m very excited to go this Summer.  
HOTELS: The Four Seasons Hualailai, Hawaii and Bernardus Inn in Carmel Valley.
RESTAURANTS: Casanova in Carmel, Red in Yountville and Chez Panisse in Berkeley.
SHOP: Cinnamon Girl in Hawaii, Liv in Los Gatos, J.Crew and Anthropologie.
HOSTESS GIFT: A note and good wine. I love giving an ivy in a beautiful pot as a housewarming gift.
WHAT 5 PEOPLE WOULD YOU HAVE TO A FANTASY DINNER PARTY? Tough one. How about all my favourite leading men – Colin Firth, Cary Grant, George Clooney, Hugh Grant and James McEvoy.
BEST TIP FOR PUTTING THE L BACK INTO LOVE: Date nights and walks or bike rides together.
BEST SOURCE FOR NEWS: I read the newspaper every morning, The Huffington Post on the computer and the New York Times on my phone.
FAVE WEBSITE: Tripadvisor for all things travel, Le Catch and I Love Your Style for fashion.
READING NOW:The Dead End Gene Pool and Cocktail Hour under the Tree of Forgetfulness.
FAVE GLOSSIES: VOGUE, Town and Country, Sunset, House Beautiful and Hello!
GO-TO COOKBOOKS: Anything by The Barefoot Contessa.
PARENTING BOOK: Katrina Kenison’s The Gift of an Ordinary Day.  When my kids were smaller her Mitten Strings for God was wonderful.
UNWIND: Tennis with my friends. On Friday nights, my guilty pleasure is watching fashion police with a cocktail and my favourite blanket on the couch!
