Another week and another chance to look hot at school.

No – I’m not joking. Here is a comment a few of us overheard the other day… “Oh my God I’ve got to go, I desperately need to swing by Scanlan & Theodore and grab some jeans and things for the school run.”

True story and sure I laughed along – on the outside. On the inside, I was wondering what the hell is so funny? I mean, isn’t a woman’s 9-5 look, regardless of whether or not she works, a uniform of sorts?Β Before hitting the kiss-and-drop zone, we ensure all small people are washed and ironed, hair is immaculate, nails are trimmed and noses are clean. So what are we doing behind the wheel in sad old sweats, no make up and lycra that, in some cases (guilty!), may still be on come pick-up?

So I’ll say it Β – I DO believe we should look at least moderately hot for drop-off. Β If not to set an example for our kids and feel better about ourselves, but to make the world a slightly more beautiful place. Β Anyway, looking and feeling below par at kiss-and-drop is like starting the day with a cup of Nescafe. Wouldn’t you rather be sipping a Latte?

It doesn’t take a huge effort or budget to fake total hotness. In an effort to upgrade my own school run, I am channeling the ULTIMATE hot mothers – Elle Macpherson, Gwyneth Paltrow,Β Victoria Beckham, Giuliana Rancic and Rachel ZoeΒ – and devised a capsule wardrobe for said task – tee, jeans, jacket, bag, shoes and sunglasses (v. important). I timed myself and it took 2.5 minutes to shed sad, unsexy sleepwear and slide into fab ensemble. Add 30 seconds for hair, quick eyelash curl and slick of lip gloss and in 3 minutes you’re looking pretty good. Oh, and that small problem of $$$? Β I give you three price options to choose from Β – haute, affordable and such-a-bargain-baby.

Now go forth you sexy mothers and sizzle!

Band of Outsiders jacket, Chinti & Parker tee, Stella McCartney bag, Frame denim, Acne boots, Victoria Beckham aviators. All from net-a-porter.com

Band of Outsiders jacket, Chinti & Parker tee, Stella McCartney bag, Frame denim, Acne boots, Victoria Beckham aviators. All from net-a-porter.com

All from JCrew

All from JCrew

H&M jacket, jeans and aviators. JCrew tee, bag and sneakers.

H&M jacket, jeans and aviators. JCrew tee, bag and sneakers.

