Image

If you are dazed and confused by WTF your teen is talking about, you are not alone.

I had my resident tween/teen take me through their language. She translated some of the trickier abbreviations so I can understand her text messages.

Her assistance was given on the proviso I promise never to put any of them into practice. Nice.

QUICK TWEEN/TEEN SPEAK ❤

uyou

uryour

pls – please

thx – thanks

thanx – thanks

luv – love

ily – love OR I love you

perf – perfect

wtf – what the f***.  Not what the face as some adults mistakenly (or not) translate it.

wth – what the hell

soz / sozzles / sozzasorry

please note: a z after a word (eg; soz / lolz) is used to make it plural. Or cooler.

lollaugh out loud funny (sometimes mistaken by adults for lots of love.  Example – Friend: My dog just died.  You: I’m so sorry LOL

g2g / g/ggotta go

lyf/lyfe – life

wotwhat

ikr – I know right

ur so swag – your so cool

omgoh my god (uppercase here not necessary)

kk – okay

s4sshout-out for shout-out (meaning I will shout-out your instagram account to my people if you do the same for me)

yoloyou only live once

QUICK SYMBOL GUIDE 🙂

   love heart

🙂   smiley face OR I’m happy

😦   sad face OR I’m not happy

🙂  face with a nose (not completely sure but think it is just a variation on smiley face)

:*   kiss

=)  another smiley face

XD I’m excited OR can also mean I’m dead

x)   the same as above but with less enthusiasm

xD  again another variation of the above

B) smiley face with sunglasses

:b  tongue-out to depict yum or panting effect

😉  wink joke

“_” stunned

C: crazy smiley face

O: surprise!

QUICK DIY GUIDE :b

symbols

 

GOOD LUCK :*

