Louis Vuitton S/S 2008

Louis Vuitton S/S 2008

A good friend of mine recently told me this story and it really resonated with me….

“We had just moved from Australia to Dubai when I  fell ill with the flu. A couple of days later there was a knock on the door and when I opened it, there in front of me was a pot of deliciously fragrant, homemade chicken soup. My neighbour, a full-time working mum with four young kids, had taken the time to cook me (a stay-at-home mum of  one) soup!  She is so busy and frantic, yet she took the time to make soup for a less busy woman and one she barely knew. I just thought to myself, “AMAZING! How do you do it?”         Carly, Dubai             

 The desire to look after each other is always there, but sometimes life and a busy routine gets in the way. This story is an important reminder that nothing matters more than each other.

I would love to know your stories; a great friendship moment that stands out clearly in your mind. Perhaps you were ill and a friend looked after you or helped you out. Perhaps you donned the nurse’s cape and took care of them. Let me know here, on instagram, twitter or Facebook and I’ll upload this time next week.

And as for that chicken soup, here is my all-time favourite recipe. It’s from Zabars in NYC and is a magic potion for the sick and flu-ridden!  Be sure not to buy prepared bags of soup greens though. They have to be super-fresh for this soup to really do the trick.

Simple Chicken Soup (a.k.a. Jewish Penicillin)

(A recipe from Andrea Watman http://zabars.typepad.com)

Ingredients

  • 8 Qts Cold Water
  • 1 Large Chicken – cut in 1/4’s – approx 3-4 Lbs
  • 4 PCS Flanken (Beef Short Ribs)
  • 6 Large Parsnips
  • 6 Large Carrots
  • 2 Medium Yellow Onions
  • 1 Whole Head Celery – cut into stalks with all leaves removed
  • 2 Bunches of Fresh Dill
  • 2 Tablespoons Kosher Salt
  • 6 Cloves of FRESH Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

  • In a 12 Qt heavy stock pot add cold water, salt and flanken. Bring to a boil. Allow to simmer for 15 minutes. You will have to skim the water while cooking because the flanken will make a fatty foam on the surface. Just skim with a slotted spoon.
  • Peel the carrots and parsnips. Remove the skin from the onions and garlic. Cut celery stalks in thirds.
  • Add chicken (be sure to wash thoroughly), parsnips, carrots, onions, garlic, celery and dill (again be sure to wash thoroughly – I add stems and all. It will cook apart and you can remove the stems before serving). Your kitchen will begin to small delicious.
  • Lower to a simmer and cook for approx two hours. Taste and adjust for salt and pepper as necessary.
  • I am a purest. I strain the soup, some of the dill will remain in the soup, but I like the touch of green. I serve the clear soup with Matzoh Balls and I slice the cooked carrots and add to each bowl of soup.
  • If you are a Martha Stewart wana-be you can buy baby carrots with the green stems, clean them, peel them, leaving just enough of the greens to add a touch elegance, then boil them separately – and add them to each bowl (very fancy – but totally unnecessary). You can also dice the cooked chicken and add to the prepared soup.   We serve the cooked vegetables and flanken separately.
