Saturday lunch

You know those Saturdays when everyone is starving, but the loaf of bread is moldy and the ham feels too slimy to serve up?

That was me this weekend. Normally, I would grab my keys and wallet and make a run for the supermarket. This time though, my new Acne boots glared at me and I felt that familiar pang of guilt that strikes when you know you have spent the week’s grocery money on fashion.

So instead, I wriggled Β into said boots and attacked the fridge for any edible or slightly presentable leftovers.

Here was what I found –

  • Tin of lentils (rinsed and drained well)
  • Avocado (minus the brown bits)
  • Snow peas (a little on the sad, wilty side)
  • 2 sad little balls of BocconciniΒ (2 is better than none. Ripped them apart so as to feed the masses)
  • A few limes (snatched from the neighbour’s tree)
  • Tin of tuna (Sirena of course)
  • Olives (where did they come from?)
  • Soy Mayo (which I added a pinch of sea salt to and a good squeeze of lime)
  • Rye wraps (my staple)

Then I channeled my inner-Nigella and whizzed up a very tasty Coriander Pesto. It is so simple and a good staple to have in the fridge. I throw it on sandwiches and through pasta when in a kitchen bind.

Coriander Pesto

Ingredients

  • 1 large bunch of coriander, (from my new herb garden!) chopped up roughly
  • 1 cup slivered or whole almonds or pine nuts
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • Some lemon zest
  • A couple of squeezes of lemon juice
  • Big pinch of sea salt
  • ΒΌ cup olive oil or coconut oil
  • ΒΌ cup still spring water

Method

Pop the lot into a blender and whiz until smooth.

Now see if you can find a half bottle of wine lurking somewhere in the depths of the fridge and pour yourself a big glass … CHEERS!

